When I Committed Suislide

19 Apr

And I did it…yes, we did it!

Suisliding was my first ever extreme adventure! My husband and I successfully survived the 480 meter zipline called “Suislide”. At an altitude of 200meter, suislide they say is the highest and longest zipline in the Philippines. It is found in Danao Adventure Park, Bohol.

Photo credit to travelfoodfinds

But, why SUISLIDE? It is basically a zip-line consisting of a pulley suspended on a cable mounted on an incline cliff. The Suislide has two lines, going forth and back. Suislide is the local version for zipline, a sky ride or a slide for life. Sui-slide is coined from the word, “Suis“ (the sound of the cable ride once you get to slide) and “slide”. It could also mean for some who is so much petrified with heights to be a suicidal slide. It traverses around half a kilometer from one mountain to another, taking you to the greatest adventure of a lifetime!

The experience was extremely exhilarating. Having reached the first mountain destination, was entirely unbelievable…already an achievement for me.

I can’t even breathe in amazement feeling the moment where I was stringed up in the air and got nothing to hold onto…but his left hand! Really, this was one of the intense moments where I have brought myself into earnest praying 🙂

But, we just enjoyed the moment, blowing the fear out of our heads and smiled at the extremely scary challenge. Fear busted. I felt I was flying!

Travel delight: There are moments in our lives where we have nothing left, but God, times where we’ve got nothing to hold onto but the Lord. And being in that situation is really frightening. Fear may consume us. But we have to overcome our fears, be of good courage, and take strength from the Lord who  never leaves nor forsakes.

Psalm 27:1
The LORD is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The LORD is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?  (NKJV)

Isaiah 41:10
So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  (NIV)

3 Responses to “When I Committed Suislide”

  1. gracefully50 April 19, 2012 at 10:03 #

    Oh how fun!! I’m afraid of heights, but I’ll bet this will cure that phobia for good!

    • piecesofdelight April 19, 2012 at 10:03 #

      Yea Jeannie, conquer your fear 🙂 and after that, you will feel as though all insurmountable are just but a state of mind that can be defeated by courage.

  2. URL May 12, 2012 at 10:03 #

    I really prize your work , Great post. 845010

Leave a Reply

